The Smile | A Light for Attracting Attention (Indie Exclusive Yellow Vinyl) (2 LP)

Regular price $42.99

Shipping calculated at checkout.

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews
William McCormack
Great shipping. Fast and packed well

Great shipping. Awesome business

Mail Order

Great shipping and man amazing secure packaging for 3 LPs! Will shop here again.

 Release Date: 6/17/2022

  • 2 LP
  • Indie Exclusive Yellow Vinyl
"Not The Smile as in ha-ha-ha, more The Smile as in the guy who lies to you every day"... so speaks Thom Yorke on the inspiration behind the name of the new trio consisting of himself, his Radiohead bandmate Jonny Greenwood and drummer Tom Skinner of UK jazz outfit Sons of Kemet. The description is borne out by The Smile's acerbic first single "You Will Never Work In Television Again," a 2:48 blast of ragged, raw energy that moved The New York Times to rave: "Over a bruising 5/4 beat and flailing guitars climbing through three chords, Yorke snarl-sings his avenging fury at 'some gangster troll promising the moon' who'd devour 'all those beautiful young hopes and dreams,' and you can almost feel the spittle flying."

Additional singles "The Smoke", "Skrting the Surface" and "Pana-Vision" - which epically closed the series finale of hit show Peaky Blinders - followed with equal critical acclaim; all are collected on The Smile’s first album, A Light For Attracting Attention, produced by Nigel Godrich.


Track Listing:

Disc 1
1 The Same
2 The Opposite
3 You Will Never Work In Television Again
4 Pana-vision
5 The Smoke
6 Speech Bubbles

Disc 2
1 Thin Thing
2 Open The Floodgates
3 Free In The Knowledge
4 A Hairdryer
5 Waving A White Flag
6 We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
7 Skrting On The Surface